Supervision

Meaning

Reflection of Your Work with People

In Supervisions (from the Latin super-videre = to watch closely, to look at/upon), the exercise of professional activity performance is reflected upon in the narrower sense: A Psychotherapist, a Psychoanalyst, a Psychologist, a Physician, a Teacher, a Social Worker, etc., discusses one of their clients or patients, «cases», with me. With the help of the psychoanalytic method and my decades of professional experience, I support the specialist in understanding his/her “case”, and help him to find suitable procedures and interventions.

Psychoanalytic Supervision focuses on the recognition of unconscious attitudes and behaviorial patterns of the discussed «case». Furthermore, it helps the Supervisee to realize and overcome his own «blind spots» (stemming from his/her own personal history and idiosyncratic flaws). The aim is for the Supervisee to improve in his own professional practice and performance, and to be able to better serve his clients or patients.

Supervision also contains didactic elements. I impart psychological and psychoanalytical knowledge to the Supervisees, encourage them to read and study relevant professional literature, and also to reflect more deeply on the subject matter of their professional activity between sessions of supervision.

How does Supervision work?

Supervision is obligatory as part of the training to become a Psychoanalyst or Psychotherapist, and young professional colleagues learn their craft in this way.

I am an accredited Supervisor and Training Analyst of the Swiss Society for Psychoanalysis, the Freud Institute Zurich, the Psychoanalytic Seminar Zurich, the Innsbruck Psychoanalytic Seminar and several training institutes all over Europe.

Supervision is also used by all other kinds of Psychotherapists, Psychoanalysts and other specialists for their life-long learning. Like any good athlete or artist, they strive to get better every day and hire a supervisor to train them and bring their professional performance to a higher level.

Types of Supervision

Supervision Takes Place in Groups
or Individually

Case Supervision

Case Supervision can take place individually or in small groups of four to eight persons. A colleague presents a case, and under the guidance of the supervisor the group (or in individual supervision: the colleague) an understanding of the case and ways of proceeding are worked out. Solutions, procedures, interventions are developed, proposed, critically looked at and finally chosen.

The Supervisions take place in my practice or – when held in institutions – in the premises of the Supervisees. In the latter case, I charge a flat rate for travel expenses and half the Supervision fee for travel time.

Team Supervision

In Team Supervision, the focus is on the relationships and communication within the team. Sometimes open or subliminal conflicts hinder the team in the optimal fulfillment of its task.

Team Supervision aims to uncover underlying tensions, discuss conflicts and resolve blockages, so that the team can once again function satisfactorily and harmoniously for all involved.
Application

Duration and Effect

Supervisions most often take place on a weekly or bi-weekly basis (Case Supervisions), or at somewhat longer intervals (Team Supervisions).

It is a fact that teams function better when they regularly make use of Supervision, even when there is no acute crisis situation. Emerging tensions and conflicts are thus recognized and constructively discussed before they build up to paralyzing blockades, destructive intrigues, a poisoned work atmosphere and high staff turnover. As Supervisor, I am strictly neutral and create a warm, empathetic and open conversation atmosphere. My ultimate goal is to foster communication and cooperation within the team, making it fit for the fulfillment of its professional task.

Individual Supervisions normally last 45 minutes (or 90 minutes if a double session is arranged), Team Supervisions extend over 90 to 120 minutes.

The working principle of Psychoanalytic Supervision is the same as in every Psychoanalytical work: Recognizing unconscious connections and enduring and understanding unpleasant repressed feelings and conflicts releases the energy necessary to find new solutions and better coping. The role of the Supervisor, as in Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy, is that of a benevolent, supporting, and sometimes stern trainer striving to move his protégé or team forward. The working relationship is based on mutual trust and cooperation.

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ - Supervision

When does Supervision make sense?

Supervision is useful for all specialists in “people professions” who want to learn how to relate to their clients/patients, understand them better and work with them more successfully.

How does Supervision work?

Supervision uses the psychoanalytical knowledge and method to support and guide the Supervisee in how to better understand the unconscious dynamics of the relationship with his clients, to recognize and overcome the clients’ and his own blind spots. For this purpose, the Supervisee describes conversations and relational situations with his clients as part of the Supervision session.

The Supervisor points out facts and feelings that the Supervisee has not perceived or not taken into account, thus helping him to break free from communication barriers and dead ends. I also show the Supervisee alternatives on how to deal with clients. The goal is always to enhance to professional capacities of the Supervisee, the focus is not or only partly on the Supervisee’s own personal problems.

What are the goals of Supervision?

I consider myself to be an engaged and warm cooperation partner, an experienced colleague, helping the Supervisee to realize his professional potential, making him stronger in his capabilities and interventions. My role is that of a teacher in guiding his disciples to think more freely and creatively, to act strategically and tactically, and to intervene courageously.

What is the difference between Supervision and Psychotherapy?

In Psychotherapy and Psychoanalysis, the focus is on the personal problems and conflicts of the clients/patients. In Supervision, the focus is on client- or patient-related requests of the Supervisee. Sometimes, personal questions or problems of the Supervisee also emerge in Supervision. Of course, these can be discussed as well, and, where obstructive, worked on and overcome.

Supervision

Bedeutung

Reflexion der Arbeit mit Menschen

In Supervisionen (von lateinisch super-videre = draufschauen) wird die Ausübung der beruflichen Tätigkeit im engeren Sinne reflektiert: Ein Psychotherapeut, eine Psychoanalytikerin, eine Psychologin, ein Arzt, eine Lehrerin, ein Sozialarbeiter, usw. bespricht einen ihrer Patienten*innen/Klienten*innen/«Fälle» mit mir, mit Hilfe der psychoanalytischen Methode und meiner jahrzehntelangen Berufserfahrung unterstütze ich die  Fachperson im Verständnis ihres «Falles» und helfe ihr, geeignete Vorgehensweisen und Interventionen zu finden.

Psychoanalytische Supervision legt das Augenmerk auf das Erkennen unbewusster Einstellungen und Verhaltensmuster des besprochenen «Falles» und hilft dem Supervisanden auch, eigene blinde Flecken (die z.B. aus der eigenen Lebensgeschichte und Problematik stammen) zu erkennen und zu überwinden. Das Ziel ist, dass der Supervisand sich in seiner eigenen Berufsausübung verbessert und seinen Klienten besser helfen kann.

Supervision enthält auch didaktische Elemente, ich vermittle den Supervisanden psychologisches und psychoanalytisches Wissen und ermutige sie, relevante Fachliteratur zu lesen und sich auch zwischen den Supervisionen vertieft mit der Materie ihrer Berufstätigkeit auseinanderzusetzen.

Wie geht Supervision?

Supervision findet im Rahmen der Ausbildung zum Psychoanalytiker und Psychotherapeuten obligatorisch statt, junge Berufskolleginnen lernen so ihr Handwerk.

Ich bin anerkannter Supervisor und Lehranalytiker der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Psychoanalyse, des Freud-Instituts und des Psychoanalytischen Seminars Zürich.

Arten der Supervision

Supervision erfolgt in der Gruppe oder
individuell abgestimmt

Fallsupervision

Fallsupervision kann auch in Kleingruppen stattfinden (meist vier bis acht Personen). Eine Kollegin oder ein Kollege stellt einen Fall vor, unter der Leitung des Supervisors werden ein Verständnis des Falles und Vorgehenswege erarbeitet.

Die Supervisionen finden in meiner Praxis oder im Rahmen von Institutionen in den Räumlichkeiten der Supervisanden statt. In einem solchen Fall verrechne ich eine Fahrkostenpauschaule und die Fahrzeit zum halben Supervisionstarif.

Teamsupervision

In Teamsupervisionen liegt der Fokus auf den Beziehungen und der Kommunikation im Team. Manchmal behindern offene oder unterschwellige Konflikte das Team in der optimalen Erfüllung seiner Aufgabe.

Die Teamsupervision hat das Ziel zu Grunde liegende Spannungen aufzudecken, die Konflikte zu besprechen und die Blockaden zu lösen, sodass das Team wieder zufriedenstellend und harmonisch für alle Beteiligten funktioniert.
Anwendung

Dauer und Wirkung

Supervisionen finden meistens wöchentlich oder zweiwöchentlich statt (Fallsupervisionen), oder in etwas grösseren Abständen (Teamsupervisionen).

Es ist eine Erfahrungstatsache, dass Teams besser funktionieren, wenn sie regelmässig Supervision in Anspruch nehmen, auch wenn keine akute Krisensituation besteht. Entstehende Spannungen und Konflikte werden so erkannt und aufgefangen, bevor sie sich zu destruktiven und lähmenden Blockaden, einer schlechten Arbeitsatmosphäre und grosser Fluktuation der Mitarbeiter aufschaukeln. Ich bin in den Supervisionen neutral und schaffe eine freie und offene Gesprächsatmosphäre, das oberste Ziel ist, dass das Team wieder eine gute Arbeitsatmosphäre hat und seine Aufgabe optimal erfüllen kann.

Einzelsupervisionen dauern in der Regel 45 Minuten (oder 90 Minuten, wenn eine Doppelsitzung vereinbart wird), Teamsupervisionen erstrecken sich meist über 90 bis 120 Minuten.

Das Wirkprinzip von psychoanalytischer Supervision ist das Gleiche wie bei jeglicher psychoanalytischen Arbeit: Das Erkennen unbewusster Zusammenhänge und das Aushalten und Verstehen unangenehmer verdrängter Gefühle und Konflikte setzt die Energie frei, um neue Lösungswege zu erproben und besser zu funktionieren. Die Rolle des Supervisors ist wie in der Psychoanalyse und der Psychotherapie die eines wohlwollenden, engagierten und manchmal strengen Trainers, der seinen Schützling bzw. sein Team voranbringen will, die Atmosphäre ist vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit zwischen Supervisor und Supervisand.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

FAQ - Supervision

Wann macht eine Supervision Sinn?

Supervision ist geeignet für jegliche Berufsleute in «Menschenberufen», die in der Beziehungsgestaltung mit ihren Patienten/Klienten/Kunden dazulernen, diese besser verstehen und mit ihnen erfolgreicher arbeiten wollen.

Wie funktioniert und wirkt Supervision?

Supervision nutzt die psychoanalytische Methode und das Wissen, um den Supervisanden zu unterstützen und anzuleiten, wie er die unbewussten Dynamiken der Beziehung zu seinem Klienten besser verstehen, dessen und seine eigenen blinden Flecken erkennen und überwinden kann. Der Supervisand schildert in der Supervisionssitzung Gespräche und Beziehungssituationen mit seinem Klienten.

Der Supervisor weist ihn/sie auf Fakten und Gefühle hin, die er/sie nicht wahrgenommen hat, hilft ihm so, aus Verständnisblockaden und Sackgassen herauszukommen. Auch zeige ich ihm Alternativen auf, wie er/sie mit dem Klienten umgehen könnte. Das Ziel ist immer die Förderung der Berufskompetenz des Supervisanden, der Fokus liegt nicht oder nur z.T. auf den eigenen persönlichen Problemen des Supervisanden.  

Was hat eine Supervision für Ziele?

Ich verstehe mich als einen engagierten und warmherzigen Kooperationspartner, einen erfahrenen Kollegen, der dem Supervisanden hilft, seine eigene Berufsbegabung besser auszuschöpfen, in seinen Fähigkeiten und Vorgehensweisen besser und sattelfester zu werden. Meine Rolle ist die eines Lehrmeisters mit dem Ziel, den Supervisanden/die Supervisandin anzuleiten, freier und kreativer zu denken, strategisch und taktisch zu handeln und mutig zu intervenieren.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Supervision und Psychotherapie?

In der Psychotherapie (und Psychoanalyse) liegt der Fokus auf den persönlichen Problemen und Konflikten des Klienten/Patienten, in der Supervision auf den patienten- und klientenbezogenen Fragen des Supervisanden. Manchmal tauchen in der Supervision auch persönliche Probleme des Supervisanden auf. Selbstverständlich können diese auch besprochen und wo hinderlich, bearbeitet und überwunden werden.